That Weird Thing

I remember you, I think

From a dream or someplace else

“Maybe Hawaii?” Nah, never been,

Maybe you’re my soul’s kin.

 

And there you go,

Doing that weird thing you do,

You know with your lips.

I wonder if it affects the way you kiss.

 

You stand like a shadow,

But you speak like a tyrant.

Never once had I met a stare so violent.

Gazing steadily into my eyes

It’s so direct it scares me sometimes.

 

So you grab a cigarette and take a drag

Stare at me, and then laugh.

“What’s so funny?” I ask.

You shake your head, and I’m mad.

 

And there you go,

Doing that odd thing you do,

You know with your lips.

Oh, how I long for a kiss.

 

Come to think of it,

No I don’t know you,

But I know I will.

I trust you’re quite a thrill.

Leave a Reply

