The Mirror

Some would say I’m opinionated

Others would say immature

I’d like to say I’ve been tampered with

Because no one these days is pure.

 

They gave me food and shelter

I learned from their mistakes

They tried to make me perfect

But by then it was too late.

 

My life was- was-

My life was made simple and easy

They’d bend over backwards for me

Was I some kind of experiment?

Or was I truly what they had dreamed?

 

No doubt I was brought up like china

But who wants to be breakable so soon?

No matter how tough I try to seem

I’m sorry;

 

Next line

 

Love is supposed to be magic

But for me it’s been hell and back

Poor men were giving me everything

And I couldn’t cut them some slack.

 

How could I love anyone?

Anyone.

How could I love anyone

If I didn’t know who I was?

 

It took losing almost everything

To finally look hard at my life

I noticed there was nothing

Nothing I recognized.

 

Who was I? Was I supposed to know?

Was it too soon? Or was I slow?

 

But there is always a harvester of light

Always a song to live by

And it was that face, pale and true

Brown eyes staring through and through,

They led me to recognize me in you.

Leave a Reply

