Puerto Rican Fashion – “Different” Done Right

Hello my loves!

I want to take a moment to talk about Puerto Rican fashion. For those of you who don’t know, Puerto Rico is a small island, a Commonwealth of the United States of America. Anyway, here the fashion rules are pretty simple: keep it simple. If you come to Puerto Rico to our only high-end hang-out spot, Condado, you’ll see a lot of gorgeous women wearing almost the exact same thing. Let me clear this up; they’re nice pieces of clothing, they look nice, and they’re probably expensive as well. I don’t want to diss the way most Puerto Ricans dress, but what I feel is that there’s a lack of personal style. They’ll all wear bandage skirts, with chiffon tops, gold necklaces, and Steve Madden heels. Maybe mix it up with a bandage dress, silver accessories, and Jessica Simpson heels. Usually that’s where they all stay at. They’re stuck in a comfort zone. I used to live in the same comfort zone, up until I went to New York and saw how amazing people could dress. I was in that comfort zone because I was afraid of seeming tacky, but there are ways of avoiding this. There’s a way to do “different” right. This, of course, altered my perception of fashion forever. All I wish for is that they come out of that comfort zone, try different styles, and shop at different stores other than Zara and Bliss Boutique. I know, I know, we have limited versatility in terms of actual clothing stores. Personally, I prefer to shop online. There are also two great options here in Puerto Rico, which, for now, are some of the best kept secrets. One being The Velvet Room and the other being Ouna’s Closet. The Velvet Room is a bit more stylish, but Ouna’s Closet is awesome for vintage finds!

With that being said, here are a few ladies who agreed to appear on my blog and do “different” right.

First we have Crystal. This little lady I met a few years ago due to a mutual friend and I have always loved her style. She had that usual Puerto Rican look, but with a twist. Now she’s on another level. She wears leather, fringe, palazzo pants, you name it – she rocks it. Aside from her obvious beauty, she puts together daring outfits where sexy meets chic meets grunge. Here are a few pics from her facebook page:

Image

Image

Image

Next we have Coraliz. This chick I love because she has such a laid back look, but she uses special vintage pieces that just have to grab your attention because they’re so cute. I met her because we both worked for the same promotions company. Other than being one of the prettiest girls on campus, she always always always brings her A-game. Unlike myself. I have never bumped into her and said “Today she looks so-so”, she’s always on point. Here are a few pictures from her facebook featuring her awesome sporty meets chic meets vintage style:

Image

Image

Image

Last, but certainly not least, is Del Mar. In case you’re wondering, no that is not her real name, but that’s the one she prefers. Moving on… This chick is probably my personal favorite person to stalk and watch what she’s wearing. I remember I first noticed the knuckle-ring fad because of her. Not only does she have a sick style, she’s also one of the coolest chicks, and is currently residing in “la creme de la creme” of high fashion, NYC. Her style is pretty 90’s grunge meets chic meets minimal. I adore her and you should, too. Here are a few pictures from this lovely lady’s facebook page:

Image

Image

Image

Well, that’s all I have for you guys today! Hope you enjoyed these ladies’ sick styles.

What do you think? Who’s style do you love more? Who’s style resembles yours most?

Remember to like my facebook page/follow me on wordpress/or follow me by e-mail to make my day 😉

Take care!

xxoo

Photo credit: To these ladies’ facebook pages. None are mine.

Leave a Reply

