Alone (Poem)

I know it wasn’t easy

In your house in Bayamon.

You were scared

And alone.

No one,

Not your ma’,

And least your pa’,

Gave a shit

About

You.

 

There you stand

Like a tyrant

Like a monster

And my heart breaks

Because you yell

And it’s booming

And powerful

And I’m weak

And small.

 

Have the neighbors heard?

“Mija, it could be worse”

But it isn’t

And it’s still bad

And YOU defend him

And I’m alone.

 

There you go again

Raising your voice

And then you wonder

On your own

“what did I do?”

And I laugh,

And we laugh,

And you’re alone.

 

I plead

For you

To tell him

To help him

DO SOMETHING

Because he’s not

Responsible

For my brothers’

Success.

 

There he goes again

Yelling

Screaming

Shouting

And

I

Say

“I’m sorry”

 

 

again. 

Leave a Reply

