Going Vintage

Hello lovelies!

So, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about vintage style. I’ve been looking at old photographs of Brigitte Bardot, Marilyn Monroe, Audrey Hepburn, and even Twiggy. I love looking back on old trends because a lot of them are still applicable today! So anyway, I started browsing through Shabby Apple and ModCloth and found awesome pieces I’d love to share with you guys, along with some photos of the lovely ladies aforementioned.

First, the ladies:

15-miller-monroe_300 Au5BTcpCIAAZUFi.jpg-large audrey-hepburn-style-collage brigitte bardot 2 tumblr_lr7xh8V2qO1r1plgpo1_400

 

In my humble opinion, they’re Godesses.

Well, anyway, these photos were BURNED into my thoughts when I sifted through the two sites (Shabby Apple & ModCloth). Here are a few pieces that really caught my eye:

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 7.54.56 PM

 

This dress from Shabby Apple is gorgeous. The thing that I love about it is the French feel of it. I feel like if I wear it, I’d be saying goodbye to my French lover who’s leaving to fight in WWII. Dramatic, much? Indeed. 

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 7.58.07 PM

 

This dress reminds me a lot of Twiggy. I don’t know if it’s the simplicity, or the top of the dress, but it just gives me her feel. What makes it a sealed deal is definitely that it can be dressed up or dressed down, as seen here, and still look fabulous. The combination in this photograph is abosolutely stunning.

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 7.59.20 PM

 

Is it OK to be in love with a dress? I’m gonna say it is, for the heck of it! This dress is AMAZING. I love it from head to.. knee? It’s so classically vintage and yet can be modernized easily. It’s one of those pieces you can use so much, because it’s so versatile. 

Moving on to ModCloth

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 8.07.09 PM

 

This dress I can just imagine myself as Marilyn Monroe being acting as though I’m innocent, with a gorgeous pout, and then bring out the naughty later. It’s absolutely stunning, the print mixed with the color gives it an interesting look. 

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 8.08.07 PM

 

This dress seems very nautical to me, which oddly, I’m very much liking. What’s interesting is how they take a piece that looks very vintage, and yet twist it a bit so it’s modern enough to wear anywhere. You could wear this to your graduation and to a night out with the gals as well. 

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 8.08.16 PM

 

Now this dress is the 0ddest/coolest of all to me. I love the mixture of patterns on this dress along with the sleeves. It looks like something Holly Golightly mixed with a modern feel. It’s absolutely adorable. 

 

What did you guys think? Which was YOUR favorite? If you feel like browsing through the sites for yourself you could click here and here. Or, click on the banners at your right! 😉

Take care! xxoo

 

Want to make my day? Follow me on wordpress/by e-mail/or on facebook! 🙂

One thought on “Going Vintage

  1. LOVE it – I say go for the vintage look, it’s so fun and unique. That last dress from ModCloth is ADORABLE, I was actually eyeing it a few weeks ago (but its pretty expensive :/) Maybe one day..

    anyway, you’ve obviously got a good eye for the style so I say do it!

Leave a Reply

